28 June 2016

2 Ways to Stop People from Adding You to Facebook Groups

Leave a Comment
Stop people from adding you to Facebook groups

Facebook groups provide a great way to discuss new things with your friends, family members and other unknown people. You can share photos, videos and even files with other members. Anyone can create groups on Facebook and it will hardly take 2 minutes only. Good thing as well as bad thing is, your friends can add in your any group without asking for your permission. It's really annoying to be a part of group that you don't want to join.

The power to add your friends in any group should be used in the right way. Everyone should respect each other's privacy. Now it looks like that Facebook groups are little spammy somewhere. People are using them to promote their products and for spam purpose. You may find thousands of group having 200k+ members. So do you think all those people have joined them themselves? The answer is no.

Admins exchange each other's friend to add them in their groups. There are number of Chrome extensions available which can add all your friends in a particular group simultaneously. This can also be possible by using JavaScript code in your browser console box. Although you can leave any group any time but your friend or other members may add you again.

If this is your problem, you're at right place. In this tutorial, I will guide you how to stop people from adding you to unknown Facebook group. Here are two methods -


Leave the group and prevent user to add you again


In this method, you've to leave the each group manually. Fortunately, Facebook has added a new feature which let you stop people from adding you to the group again even after leaving it. Simply follow these steps -
  1. First of all, login to your Facebook account and open the group you want to leave.
  2. Now click "Joined" button in front of the cover photo.

    Leave group

  3. From the drop-down menu, tap "Leave group" option.
  4. Now a pop up box will appear. Tick mark "Prevent other members from adding you back to this group" option.

    Prevent other members from adding you again

  5. Finally tap "Leave group" button one more time and that's it.
After this, no other member or the same person can't add you back to the group. However, you can join it manually if you want.

2. Block or unfriend the person


Some people are too annoying that they may add in other similar groups. Well If you don't want any person to add you in any type of group, the only way is to block or unfriend him. Here's how to unfriend them -

First go to the person's profile and click "Friends" button. Now tap "Unfriend" option from the menu list. You can also block the person to stop all communications.


Unfriend

Apart from this, if the person is your close friend, you can tell him directly that you aren't interested in any group at all. Please kindly stop adding me. Additional, you can post a new status on your timeline so that other people will also be alarmed.

Facebook should make little changes in their group privacy settings. People should be asked to approve the join request as like it is in case of page invite so that interested people will join only. It will be a more friendly and spam free environment than. Secondly, there should be an option to block people particularly from adding you to unknown groups.

I just hope that Facebook will add these features soon. If you've any other suggestions, please share them in below comment box. Stay tuned for more interesting tutorials.

Leave A Comment